The Department also includes many other special organizations such as the Research Council, the Dairy Industry Commission, the Dairy School of St. Hyacinthe, the Provincial Extension Farm (Deschambault), the Fur Bearing Animals Extension Farm (St. Louis de Courville). The Farm Credit Bureau, the Quebec Sugar Refinery (St. Hilaire), the Provincial Veterinary School (St. Hyacinthe) and the Office of Rural Electrification are also under the authority of the Minister of Agriculture.

The annual competition for the Agricultural Merit Order, organized in 1890, is held successively in each of five regions. Each contest lasts five years and covers various farm products; its objective is to ascertain the personal merit of the competitors who have most distinguished themselves in the agricultural field and can serve as examples. County Farm Improvement Contests have for 30 years promoted better methods of culture designed to increase farm income and 7,530 competitors have benefited from them.

The Drainage Service deals with soil improvement or land reclamation by renting equipment at very low rates to farmers who wish to improve their crop lands. The Department of Agriculture also gives assistance to such projects in the form of grants. Soil improvement measures include large drainage projects carried out by the Department and smaller projects carried out by groups of farmers with government help. In 1958, 44,209 farmers benefited from help given by this service.

Various forms of assistance are offered towards improvement of crops and livestock. An artificial insemination station operates at St. Hyacinthe for the benefit of breeders' clubs, and plant breeding stations for cereal and forage crops, vegetables and small fruits are maintained in a number of localities. Trained specialists are employed in the work of controlling plant and animal pests and diseases; the main laboratories are situated at Quebec City and field laboratories are located in other districts.

Agricultural co-operation is widespread in Quebec. There are 508 co-operatives with 69,829 members and 89 agricultural societies with 28,452 members to serve local interests and organize county exhibitions. There are also 713 Cercles de Fermières (Women's Institutes) in operation with a membership of 36,903; 425 farmers' clubs with a membership of 20,182; and 316 junior farmer clubs in which 8,607 young boys and girls are working on numerous practical agricultural projects.

The Farm Credit Bureau was established in 1936. By December 1958 the Bureau had made 56,660 loans to farmers amounting to a total of \$165,427,000; 26,531 of these loans were for the establishment of young men on farms.

An Agricultural Research Council was established by the Department in 1957. It is a consultative body composed of professors from the senior agricultural colleges of the province. It has no laboratories but encourages research in all fields of agriculture by means of subsidies to the faculties of agriculture of the provincial universities to be carried out under the supervision of the university staffs. The Council also has a scholarship plan to encourage the education of young agronomists. The findings of research projects undertaken under the auspices of the Department of Agriculture are published by the Council in *Recherches agronomiques*.

Ontario.—The Ontario Department of Agriculture provides financial assistance and administrative services through its Head Office, nine Branches, two Experimental Farms, and through research and extension work carried out at the Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College, Macdonald Institute, Western Ontario Agricultural School, the Kemptville Agricultural School and the Horticultural Experiment Station.

The Department is divided into two main Divisions—the Division of Production and the Division of Marketing. Each is under the direction of an Assistant Deputy Minister, directly responsible to the Deputy Minister. The Division of Production is composed of the Live Stock Branch, Extension Branch, Agricultural and Horticultural Societies Branch, Field Crops Branch, Farm Economics and Statistics Branch, and the